Transportation Leaders Recognized for Outstanding Achievement

Former USDOT Deputy Secretary Victor Mendez among those honored by the American Assn. of State Highway and Transportation Officials.

The American Assn. of State Highway and Transportation Officials recently awarded former USDOT Deputy Secretary Victor Mendez and 10 other individuals, teams and programs for outstanding achievement in the field of transportation.

“Every year it is AASHTO’s privilege to recognize the extraordinary people, projects and programs that are making transportation safer and more reliable for everyone,” said Bud Wright, AASHTO Executive Director. “These honorees are truly remarkable innovators who demonstrate the kind of can-do spirit America will need to keep up with the transformational technologies emerging in transportation today.”

Mendez received the George S. Bartlett Award given jointly by AASHTO, the American Road & Transportation Builders Assn. and the Transportation Research Board in recognition of an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to highway progress.

John Njord, former Utah DOT Executive Director, received the Thomas H. MacDonald Award, which recognizes a state transportation professional who has rendered continuous outstanding service over an extended period or has made an exceptional contribution to the art and science of highway engineering.

Susan Shaw of the Virginia Department of Transportation received the Alfred E. Johnson Achievement Award, which recognizes an outstanding contribution in the field of highway engineering or management.

The Utah Department of Transportation’s Moab Peer-to-Peer Adaptive Signal Control System received the Francis B. Francois Award for Innovation. UDOT signal engineers developed a traffic control system using the latest technology to allow for the most efficient signal timing in the heavily congested center of Moab, Utah.

More in Home