HDA Presents Nexus and DIANA Awards for Acheivement in Distribution and Product Launches

The annual recognition honors innovative product launches, outstanding trading partner relationships and an exceptional individual in the community.

This week, the HDA Research Foundation, the non-profit organization of the Healthcare Distribution Alliance (HDA), along with Genentech Inc., A Member of the Roche Group, and Mylan Inc., presented Michael J. McBride of Upsher-Smith Laboratories, Inc., with the 2017 Nexus Award for Lifetime Achievement.

First presented in 1956, the Nexus Award recognizes exceptional character, professional accomplishments, and leadership in HDA, the pharma distribution industry and community. The award was presented at HDA’s annual Business and Leadership Conference in Phoenix, Arizona.

“For more than 60 years, the Nexus has recognized extraordinary supply chain leaders,” said John M. Gray, President and CEO, HDA, and President, HDA Research Foundation. “HDA and the HDA Research Foundation are pleased to continue the proud legacy of the Nexus Award by recognizing Mike McBride — a consummate team player and champion for trade relations — with the distribution industry’s highest honor.”

A graduate of the University of Wisconsin – La Crosse, Mr. McBride’s career at Upsher-Smith began in 1988 as a consumer sales associate, and he quickly rose through the company to lead the national account team. As Upsher-Smith added branded pharmaceuticals to its generic products portfolio, Mr. McBride not only helped to grow the company’s product lines, but was instrumental in establishing the company’s consumer products, managed markets and institutional sales teams.

Transitioning to an industry relations role in 2005, Mr. McBride’s strategic vision also helped to shape Upsher-Smith’s trading partner relationships. As Vice President of Partner Relations, he currently leads the company’s efforts to establish and grow relationships with chain, wholesale and other partners to support its new product development and overall business objectives. Additionally, he played a key role in facilitating Upsher-Smith’s divestiture of its AmLactin® brand to Sandoz Inc. in late 2016.   

Rusty Field, President, Upsher-Smith Laboratories, Inc., said, “For almost 30 years, Mike’s leadership — driven by his ability to connect with colleagues and collaborators, and tireless dedication to advancing industry excellence — has not only benefited Upsher-Smith, but the entire supply chain. All of us at Upsher-Smith are lucky to work with Mike every day, and thrilled that HDA has recognized his unique vision and talents by presenting him with the 2017 Nexus Award.” 

Additionally, because of McBride’s leadership, the Upsher-Smith team has been recognized multiple times with HDA’s prestigious DIANA awards; the team also was honored as an HDA Manufacturer Partner of the Year in 2014.  

2017 DIANA Award Winners

HDA also recognized pharmaceutical manufacturers for their commitment to innovation and collaboration in the supply chain through the presentation of the annual Distribution Industry Awards for Notable Achievements in Healthcare (DIANA).

Since 1959, the DIANA awards have honored HDA-member manufacturers that develop innovative new product introductions and promotions for the healthcare distribution industry. Recipients also are recognized for fostering exceptional trading partner relationships with HDA distribution members, advancing trade relations and creating business practices that benefit the entire healthcare supply chain.

“The 2017 DIANA winners set the standard for excellence through their hard work, creativity and collaborative spirit,” said HDA President and CEO John M. Gray. “Their dedication to advancing the pharmaceutical supply chain, and the patients it serves, helps fuel this industry and our organization. All of us at HDA congratulate them on their achievements.”

Best New Product Introduction or Promotion Awards

Biotechnology Products: Bristol-Myers Squibb Company US Medicines Group, for Orencia® ClickJect

Branded Pharmaceutical Products: Allergan, for Vraylar®

Generic Pharmaceutical Products: Alvogen, Inc., for its Oseltamivir Launch (Generic Tamiflu®)

Over-the-Counter and Home Healthcare Products: Reckitt Benckiser, for Mucinex® Clear & Cool

Rx Support Systems, Supplies & Services: Broadway Industries, for Re-Use-A-Bag® Reusable Plastic T-sack

Best Overall Manufacturer Awards 

Branded Pharmaceutical Product Manufacturer with Sales to Healthcare Distributors of Less Than $300 Million:
Winner: LEO Pharma Inc.
First Merit Finalist: Kowa Pharmaceuticals America, Inc.
Second Merit Finalist: VitaMedMD/TherapeuticsMD

Branded Pharmaceutical Product Manufacturer with Sales to Healthcare Distributors of More Than $300 Million:
Winner: Allergan
First Merit Finalist: Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
Second Merit Finalist: Takeda Pharmaceuticals America, Inc.

Generic Pharmaceutical Product Manufacturer with Sales to Healthcare Distributors of Less Than $100 Million:
Winner: Alvogen, Inc.
First Merit Finalist: Lannett Company, Inc.
Second Merit Finalist: Citron Pharma LLC (now part of Rising Pharmaceuticals)

Generic Pharmaceutical Product Manufacturer with Sales to Healthcare Distributors of More Than $100 Million:
Winner: Amneal Pharmaceuticals LLC
First Merit Finalist: Apotex Corp.
Second Merit Finalist: Zydus Pharmaceuticals (USA) Inc.

Consumer Product Manufacturer
Winner: Reckitt Benckiser
First Merit Finalist: Bayer Consumer Health
Second Merit Finalist: BD

More in Home